I believe that Lawless Racing II #19 was registered the morning of the Oct 12th endurance without including Marc Gifford in their roster. Mr. Gifford was registered with Carpet Dog #22, which only completed a few laps before quiting due to mechanical failure. I believe, based on the posting on the main message board "cresson backwards" that Mr Gifford road for Lawless Racing II. I do not know Mr. Gifford nor would I recognize him, so I did not have any way of knowing this on race day. However, it appears that after the start of the race, and after the mechanical failure of bike # 22, Mr. Gifford joined team #19.
My team, Robin's Roost #59 was pushed back to third place in class, when Mr. Gifford (I believe) joined the Lawless Racing II team, over which we were maintaining a comfortable lead in the first two hours.
I interpret rule 6.1.8 to allow a rider to join an endurance team during the race only if the team has been reduced to less than two riders.
My question is can I protest this formally now, since I could not know this information during the race or 30 minute allotted protest time?
This team has changed the outcome of the class championship since Faultless Racing and Robin's Roost were in a very close points battle where one more finishing position for us would have reversed the outcome.
Your consideration is appreciated.
Chris Robin
Robin's Roost #59
PS. I hold nothing against Mr Gifford, I would want track time too, if my ride broke, however, I feel the points should not be given if the roster is not in complience with the rules.