Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Supermotos used in CMRA

Status
    Expert
    Bike #

Supermotos used in CMRA

Hi,

I'm fairly new to this - just got my ProvNov done this year. I watched a couple of races with Supermoto bikes at ECR when I first looked into racing. I thought it looked like a lot of fun. I've got a DRZ400SM on the street, and took it on a track day (Cresson 1.3) and had a lot of fun. I don't think it has enough grunt to really be any use on the bigger circuits as it tops out at about 90 - that's with a cam and a full exhaust system. I know there is more that could be done, but you are only working with 400cc to start with.

I was curious what the most common Supermoto's used in CMRA are? My idea was converting a Honda XR650R to Supermoto - from what I've read they are a bit heavy, but would have enough grunt to be used for racing the bigger tracks. I would guess there are some KTM's out there too, but not sure which models.

Also, does anyone know if CMRA is planning on running the Supermoto class next year, and if not, when that would be confirmed. The last time I saw it, there didn't seem to be a lot of bikes and it was sharing a grid with another race. Kinda would be good to know before cash gets spent on something.

Cheers, Robert

Hi Robert - welcome to the CMRA!

In the CMRA we call it "Motard" class and run "Motard" machines, not "Supermoto" because we don't run on anything but asphalt

One thing you might do is look at the race results pages to see what's been entered in that class. Motard class makes no distinction between Novice/Expert riders (both NOV and EX are on the track together and scored together) so the results are under Sprints>Expert for each event on this page http://www.cmraracing.com/content.ph...ults&tabid=120